Carpool Karaoke

Week four of the program has come and went, and along with it, were two great experiences that brought the whole community closer together. I am finally settled into the house and with my job. Life can start to turn normal for me and way less chaotic. One thing that comes with normal is having more time to bond with the people in the house. For me to do this,we need to do activities together. It started for us on Thursday night, when we went to see a comedy show called Fresh Out LA at the Upright Citizens Brigade. It was very funny and entertaining, but for me the best part was not the show, but the way to the show. I sat in the front seat of Emily Rothstein’s (we call her Mom) car, which allowed me to be the DJ for the ride. We sang along to such classics as Fergalicious, Money Maker, and Playa Hater. It was  downright fun to let go of the week and just sing my heart out, even though I am terrible singer.

On Saturday we biked to the LA Metro Hospital, an abandoned hospital that has been converted into an art exhibit. The exhibit is much more than your average art exhibit. The best way I can describe it is art mixed with horror mixed with a hospital. Certainly an interesting concept. I walked through the museum with 2 other people because I was afraid I was going to get lost. The museum was massive; it was 3 floors high and anyone could easily get lost in there. The art was amazing, at points creepy and other times breath taking. Although I don’t label myself as an art guy, I very much enjoyed this visit.

I had a great time bonding with my fellow fellows and learning more about what they like.

Max Newman

Leave a comment